running

Autumn is here, or how to survive the cold months.

The cold is here, or in London at least. Although September 23rd officially rang in the changing of seasons, we got away with a few bright days here and there. But now, it’s become clear that Autumn Is Here. Waking up and heading out early each Saturday to volunteer at my local parkrun has made that abundantly apparent. When I step out of my building, I can feel the crisp (aka bloody freezing) air on my face.

For some context: I am not a person who copes at all well with the cold. My body does not regulate its temperature very well; I get cold very easily, and once I’m there, it takes me ages to warm up (think, getting into bed in thermals, fluffy socks and hiding there until it passes…or just falling asleep). And whilst I’ve never been diagnosed with Seasonal Affective Disorder, I certainly suffer from a few symptoms.
Screen Shot 2015-10-30 at 14.15.41
I digress; Autumn has arrived. And I do not like Autumn. My US blogger friends are all excited about crispy leaves and pumpkin spice lattes and having weather that’s not Hot As Balls (to quote mi amiga Colby), meanwhile I’m just sat here moaning. But this year, I’m trying to find the positives, and I think running has helped me hugely in this. Usually my (outdoor) running takes a backseat in the colder months; something I sorely regret when Spring comes around. This year however marathon training has me committed to keeping that shit going. So anyway, here are my reasons why Autumn’s not so bad after all:
1. Beauuuutiful scenery. Even taking a quick few laps of my local park has me appreciating nature at this time of year, something I never did previously. And then there’s the multiple stops I make on each run to take gratuitous #fall pictures to shamelessly Instagram.
IMG_1821
2. Bonfire Night. This is a UK holiday that celebrates a foiled terrorist attack (known as the Gunpowder Plot) on the Houses of Parliament, from hundred of years ago. Local councils organise firework displays along with bonfires, and everyone gets snuggly with mulled wine and oohs and aahs over the beautiful fireworks. It’s my favourite holiday of the year!
Screen Shot 2015-10-30 at 14.15.57
3. Self-employment. I now get to reap the benefits of my work work, plus I have far more flexibility over my work hours. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a lot of hard work, but at least I can work late nights and run in the daytime before it gets dark.
I get to work in cafés too
I get to work in cafés too
4. Winter training. As I mentioned just now, training is one of the reasons I’m enjoying Autumn more than usual. I’m weirdly looking forward to the challenge of winter training, even though I know it’s going to be tough once the cold sets in. Additional bonus: running over the Christmas holidays means I get to escape my crazy family celebrations when it all gets too much!
Screen Shot 2015-10-30 at 14.14.56
Taken the single time I went for a winter run. Two years ago.
5. Tea. All. Damn. Day. There’s nothing like snuggling up with a cup of tea when it’s full-on pouring it down outside. During the colder months I have a hot beverage of some sort permanently glued to my hands.
No Pret did not sponsor this post. I wish!
No Pret did not sponsor this post. I wish!
6. Christmas! I’m not usually the most festive person when it comes to Christmas, but I’m looking forward to being in London for most of December; I’m determined to go to Christmas markets, drink lots of mulled wine and most importantly get a Christmas tree for the flat 😀
Screen Shot 2015-10-30 at 14.36.07
7. Hot baths and showers. I’m lucky in that my bills are included in my rent at this place. I’m not going to take the piss or anything (think of the polar bears!) but it’s so lovely to be able to sink into a hot bath after a cold run, and not have to worry about the bill at the end of the month!
Screen Shot 2015-10-30 at 14.17.50
8. Not getting sick. I’m trying my very hardest not to get really ill this year. I can handle the sniffle or two, but I usually get at least one chest infection during Autumn/Winter, and that puts me out of action for at least a week. Plus, I can’t be poorly if I want to run!
Screen Shot 2015-10-30 at 14.34.00
Again, not sponsored
9. Netflix. I think Netflix has made it more socially acceptable to stay in and chill with your friends. I’m sure I’ll be a permanent fixture on my friend Josh’s sofa as the nights get colder and frankly no-one can be bothered to leave the house. Yay for hermit life!
#throwback to last year's blanket fort
#throwback to last year’s blanket fort
10. Seasonal produce. I love root vegetables (sweet potato fries anyone?) as well as pears, apples and brambles. I live near several very cheap fruit and veg markets, and this stuff is so cheap this time of year! I’m currently sticking a shit ton of fruit in yogurt with cinnamon for a wintery treat!
We also make jam :)
We also make jam 🙂
Anyone else struggle with the colder months? How do you get through it? Any weirdos out there who enjoy the cold?!
Lots of love,
Pippa

8 thoughts on “Autumn is here, or how to survive the cold months.”

  1. HATE the cold!!! And I live someplace warm! I really have no reason to complain. But it is SO hard to get up and do a morning run in the dark AND cold

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m not a fan of winter, but I am a bit weird in that I LOVE winter training! Over the years I’ve got used to long marathon training runs on January Sunday mornings. So long as it’s dry and crisp, I love it; if it’s wet then it’s rather miserable but I feel hardcore for completing the run! The trick is to get your kit right. I find marathon training really helps me get through the winter as I have my training plan, stick to it like glue and tick off the days. Before you know it, spring has arrived!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You do parkrun too! wow # it’s a small world! and autumn and winter in nature – even urban nature, have their own charm – our sense of smell and hearing come to the fore. Enjoy your running – I may bump into you somewhere! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. when it gets cold here i pretty much dont move from under blankets with a space heater at my feet. i may sometimes use my puppies as blankets but dont quote me on that 🙂 mmm mulled wine, they had some on my cruise and it was delicious. spicy goodness right there!! PS—mid January in London…what should I expect weather wise?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Me and my puppy like to snuggle in front of the aga (I dont think you have them in the US but they’re like oldy worldy cookers that are on all the time). Shadow comes and sits on me cos he likes the warmth!

      For mid-jan, I’d expect it to be cold and rainy. Not meaning to sound like the voice of doom here… we do have lovely sunny days but they’re still very cold. And as always in London there’s a chance of rain! So excited you get to explore my city 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment